Brian Sims

2021 Tackling Economic Crime Awards finalists announced

FINALISTS FOR the third year of the Tackling Economic Crime Awards (TECAs) – for which Security Matters serves as the Official Media Partner – have just been announced. All finalists have been judged by an independent panel – appointed by the leading industry associations and anti-fraud groups – to have demonstrated commitment and outstanding performance in tackling all areas of economic crime.

This year, a record number of nominations were received from the public, private and third sectors. TECAs founder Professor Martin Gill CSyP FSyI, director of Perpetuity Research, said: “We’re delighted by the number and quality of entries received this year. This clearly demonstrates that there are lots of excellent initiatives taking place to address all areas of economic crime.”

Further, Gill noted: “The TECAs’ strict ethical principles are paramount. More and more people and organisations are supporting these awards and the credibility of them is undoubtedly growing. This has clearly been demonstrated by the diversity of the nominations received this year.”

The 2021 TECAs finalists are as follows:

Outstanding Manager or Director

*Neil Green (Government Internal Audit Agency)

*Mick O’Brien (First Customer Contact Ltd)

*Ramona Senior (West Yorkshire Police)

*Bernadette Smith (Cynergy Bank)

*Emma Wright (West Mercia Police)

Outstanding Team

*Dedicated Card and Payment Crime Unit (DCPCU) Team

*Fraud Investigation Service Cardiff and Financial Development Team, London

*GMP Scambuster Volunteers

*HMRC Priority Criminal Unit Team

*HMRC Project Meteor Team

*Kent SECU Team

*Monzo Financial Intelligence Unit Team

*National Economic Crime Victim Care Unit Team

*Northamptonshire Police Tier 4 Fraud Team

*South Yorkshire Police Fraud Co-ordination Team

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative

*FinCrime Testing Service (BAE Systems Applied Intelligence)

*NatWest and Nuance – Tackling Fraud Together

Outstanding Training Initiative

*Cifas Fraud and Cyber Academy

*DCPCU Protect Team 

*HMRC Counter Fraud Academy Disclosure Training Team

*Procurement Fraud Awareness e-learning with SFJ Accreditation by FPP/Inqual-pro

Outstanding New Product or Technology (Sponsored by Cifas)

*Best Practice Standards and Indemnity Platforms (UK Finance Limited)

*Deduce Customer Alerts

*HSBC Fraud and Cyber Awareness App

*Lloyds Banking Group CPO Pega Cloud Delivery

*Scout by Synalogik

Outstanding Partnership

*International Charity Fraud Awareness Week (Fraud Advisory Panel and the Charity Commission for England and Wales)

*National Investigation in partnership with BEIS

*‘Better Together’: National Investigation Service, NHS Counter Fraud Authority, Greater Manchester Police Economic Crime Unit and the Crown Prosecution Service

*JMLIT Tax Crime and Evasion Group

*Lloyds Banking Group and City of London Police

*UK Finance and Members of the City of London Police and Metropolitan Police Service (DCPCU)

*Victim Support Sussex, Sussex Police and the Sussex Police and Crime Commissioner

Outstanding Investigator

*Clare Byrne (Lewes District and Eastbourne Borough Councils)

*David Campbell (HMRC)

*Ben Hobbs (City of London Police)

*Ruth Mumford (Eastern Region Special Operation Unit at Bedfordshire Police)

*Andy Siddle (HMRC)

Temporary Detective Sergeant Matt Swift (Leicestershire Police)

Outstanding Policing Initiative

Civil Recovery, Fraud Investigation Service Economic Crime Operations and Strategy (HMRC)

*Dedicated Card and Payment Crime Unit (DCPCU) (City of London Police)

*National Economic Crime Victim Care Unit (City of London Police)

Outstanding Young Professional

Matthew Cooper (South Yorkshire Police)

Detective Constable Matt Cornell (City of London Police)

Samuel Dean (HMRC)

Adam Mercer (Action Fraud, City of London Police)

Laura Murphy (Government Internal Audit Agency)

Jonathan Nelson (Herefordshire Council)

Outstanding Prevention Initiative

*Local Authorities Screening Service (Cifas)

*COVID-19 Fraud Watch Initiative (Fraud Advisory Panel)

*Stephen Kelly (Essex and Kent Police SCD)

*Financial Crime Team (Monzo)

*National Trading Standards Scams Team/Call Blockers

*Gatekeeper (Nuance)

Outstanding Tackling Economic Crime Professional

*Sean Flynn (City of London Police)

*Claire Jenkins MSc FCCA (Companies House)

*Claire Norman (Jaja Finance)

Lifetime Achievement Award

To be announced at the ceremony

Winners of the TECAs will be unveiled at a free-to-attend virtual awards event which will be streamed live on 6 December 2021. Tickets can be reserved here.

The 2021 TECAs are sponsored by Altia (trophies) and Cifas (category sponsor). The TECAs are supported by the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners, the Cabinet Office, CIPFA, the City of London Police, the Fraud Advisory Panel, the H I Counter Fraud Group, the London Fraud Forum,, the National Economic Crime Centre, the NHS Counter Fraud Authority, the North East Fraud Forum, the Royal United Services Institute, the Serious Fraud Office, UK Finance and the University of Portsmouth.

Company Info

Security Matters

Western Business Media
Dorset House
64 High Street
East Grinstead
RH19 3DE

Login / Sign up