Brian Sims

Front line security officers recognised in BSIA’s British Security Awards

THE BRITISH Security Industry Association (BSIA) has announced its regional security personnel winners for 2024, recognising front line security officers across the United Kingdom for their commitment to keeping people, property and places professionally protected.

The BSIA’s regional front line security personnel awards are part of the Trade Association’s British Security Awards, which will be held at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in central London.

All regional winners will now go forward as national finalists.

For 25 years, the regional awards have recognised the talent, dedication, skill and bravery exhibited by front line security personnel in their roles. In 2024, the five long-standing categories – ie Best Newcomer, Best Team, Outstanding Act, Service to the Customer and Security Manager of the Year – have witnessed a record number of entries.

Mike Reddington, CEO at the BSIA, commented: “Each year through the British Security Awards, it’s our honour to be able to recognise and reward the tremendous work of security officers across the UK for their role in keeping people, property and places professionally protected.”

Reddington added: “This year’s winners should be immensely proud of their achievements. We wish them the best of luck as they now go forward to the national final of the British Security Awards, which takes place on 3 July.”

The winning regional companies in 2024 are ABM, Bidvest Noonan, Dyson, G4S, Lodge Service, Land Sheriffs, the Ministry of Defence, MAN Commercial Protection, Mitie, NG Bailey, OCS Group, Rockfort Secure, Samsic UK, SecuriGroup, Securitas UK, SGS, STM Group, Vigilance and the Westgrove Group.

2024 regional winners

Best Newcomer

*Rehan Uddin (Mitie)

*Paul Wheatley (MAN Commercial Protection)

*Stacey Whitehead (Mitie) 

*Caitlyn Turner (Lodge Service) 

*James Jordan Rafferty (Mitie) 

*Paul McCue (Securitas UK)

*Steven Jackson (OCS Group) 

*Leslie Smitherman (Securitas UK)

Best Team 

*Westfield Stratford Security Team (Mitie)

*MGS Area 8 Team (Ministry of Defence)

*WMCA CCTV Control Room Team (MAN Commercial Protection) 

*CBRE Derby Security Team (Samsic UK)

*NLag NHS Security Team (Bidvest Noonan) 

*B&Q Store Detectives (Mitie)

*Silverburn Security Team (SecuriGroup)

*Templars Square Shopping Centre (Westgrove Group) 

*Centre:MK Security Team (OCS Group)

*Dyson In-House Security Team (Dyson)

*Xscape Yorkshire Security Team (MAN Commercial Protection)

*OCS Control and CCTV Team (OCS Group)

*SNAP Access and Security (SNAP)

*HMRC Cardiff Security Team (Mitie)

*Belfast Harbour Security Team (Bidvest Noonan)​ 

Service to the Customer

*James Moloke (STM Group)

*Khalil Siddiq (G4S)

*Gill Yardley (MAN Commercial Protection)

*Ayat Karami (Mitie)

*Monika Konkolova (Mitie)

*Paul Lavery (Westgrove Group)

*Stephanie Laverty and John Paul Larrson (Securitas UK)

*Polly Webb (SGS)

*Nationwide Building Society and Mitie Fire and Security (Mitie)

*Carla Couto (Mitie)

*Monika Broda (Mitie)

*Lindzey Thomas (Vigilance)

Outstanding Act​

*Sarah Razaq (Bidvest Noonan)

*Carl Adams (Westgrove Group) 

*Tony Cuthbertson (ABM)

*Jamie Preston-Sellers (Westgrove Group) 

*Matthew Hook (OCS Group) 

*Martyn Ward (Bidvest Noonan) 

*Sheffield Job Centre Team (G4S)

*Steven Hart (Mitie)

Security Manager of the Year

*Tom Meredith (Mitie)

*David Pike (Securitas UK)

*Janet Adderley (Mitie)

*James Bradley (Mitie)

*Ian Kennedy (STM Group)

*Ross Harvey (Rockfort Secure) 

*Derek McWhinnie (Securitas UK)

*Mark Murphie (SecuriGroup) 

*Alexander Ramsay (Securitas UK)

*Martin Tweed (Dyson)

*Paul Arnill MBE (OCS Group) 

*Daniel Pike (NG Bailey)

Recognition of excellence

Commenting on the news, Nadine Matthews (Country President of Securitas UK) stated: “We’re delighted that so many of our Securitas UK colleagues have been honoured in the regional personnel categories. The British Security Awards not only recognise excellence in the security industry, but also highlight some of the fantastic work that takes place for our clients across the country. It’s an opportunity for us to shine a spotlight on colleagues’ successes and on their commitment to provide excellent service to our customers.”

Matthews went on to state: “All of our Securitas colleagues play a pivotal role in protecting UK businesses. We pride ourselves on providing clients with innovative technology solutions that address the security challenges modern day businesses are facing. The British Security Awards are testament to the success of our colleagues who are helping to make the world a safer place each and every. Congratulations again to all of our regional winners.”

The front line security personnel categories of the British Security Awards are kindly sponsored by Darwin Clayton.

Further information is available online at the British Security Awards website

Company Info


Anbrian House
1 the Tything

Login / Sign up